Why I Choose to be an #Indie #Author #RRBC #RWISA

This is a fabulous article by Indie author, and founder/president of Rave Reviews Book Club, Nonnie Jules. If you are holding your breath, waiting for that traditional publisher to find your book among the thousands of submissions that they receive, you should pay attention to what she says.As for me: Indie loud, Indie proud, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

RAVE WRITERS - INT'L SOCIETY OF AUTHORS (rwisA)

The main reason is INDEPENDENCE.ย  I remember as a child dreaming of becoming a writer.ย  As I got older with a bit more knowledge under my belt, I dreamed of one day becoming a published author.ย  After having read many stories of how authors were rejected over and over again, and how hard it was to break into the publishing business, after a while, the thought completely left my mind.

Then one day (later in my life), I read an article about a self-published author who had become a New York Times Bestseller.ย  Iโ€™ve told the story before of how I reached out to her, how we communicated back and forth until I got to the part about her sharing with me her secrets, then all conversation came to a screeching halt (another reason there is now RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB, where support and non-competition are both high priorities)โ€ฆthatโ€™sโ€ฆ

View original post 1,138 more words

2 comments

  1. Allison Williford · June 10, 2016

    Indie loud and indie proud also! I had considered submitting to literary agents when I had finished working with my editor for Waiting for You, but consciously decided against it. I would lose a lot of control, like Nonnie’s article states. Plus, I love the indie community. Everyone is so supportive, especially in RRBC. We’re all in the same boat! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Rhani D'Chae · June 10, 2016

      Allison, you are so right! Going Indie is a decision that isn’t right for everyone, but to me it was the only choice that made sense. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

