A Weekend At The Movies

John was in town again this past weekend, and we saw Aloha, Jurassic World, San Andreas, and Spy.  It was a slow weekend for us, but the times just didn’t line up well eough for us to see more. We did hang out in Furious 7 for an hour and a half while waiting for San Andreas to start alnd that was fun. Furious 7 is one of the best movies I’ve seen so far this year, so watching part of it again was a treat. Here are our reviews, I hope you like them.

 * * *

1) Aloha – This is a good film, please don’t think it wasn’t. It would have been a great romantic comedy, it also had the makings of a good political thriller, but because they combined the two genres it just seemed like they couldn’t really develop either. John and I both thought that the movie would have been better if they had chosen one of the two options instead of trying to combine the two. 3*

 2) San Andreas – Disaster movies have come so far from the days of The Poseidon Adventure and the Towering Inferno! The special effects were SO amazing in this film that even the completely predictable ending could not detract from them.  Dwayne Johnson was heroic, as expected, and was surrounded by some very good actors but for us, the star of the show was thirteen year old Art Parkinson, in the role of Ollie. Some of you may know him from Game Of Thrones, and he was an absolute delight in San Andreas. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves a great disaster film. 5*

 3) Spy – Jason Statham in a comedy role, and he was really good! Who knew? But actually, the entire cast of Spy could not have been better chosen. Melissa McCarthy was absolutely perfect in the lead role, while Jude Law, who did not have as much screen time as I would have liked, was a joy to watch simply because he was there. Rose Byrne captivated as bad girl Rayna Royanov, and Bobby Cannavale was wonderful as villain Sergio De Luca. All in all, we were in hysterics from beginning to end. As comedies go, this one will be hard to top. Oh, and if you go to Spy, you should wait around for the credits. They had us laughing too. A hilarious 5*.

 4) Jurassic World – I think I was so impressed by Jurassic Park because the special effects used to create the dinosaurs were unlike anything I’d seen before. The plot was good, the concept believable, and overall it was just a great film. I lost interest in the franchise because of the disappointing sequels, and pretty much figured that my days at the park were done. Welcome to Jurassic World! This movie revives the franchise I a big way, pun intended, and left us breathless in our seats. The special effects aren’t the new thing that they were when Jurassic Park was released, but they have improved over the years and so are just as impressive. The plot isn’t really any different from the others in the franchise, but it was well written and contained several subtle references to the original film, which I greatly enjoyed. The dinosaurs were terrifyingly realistic, and the T-Rex’s final scene could not have been done better. Long story short, you gotta see this movie! An absolute 5*!

 * * *

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog today and reading my movie reviews. I appreciate your support, and it totally makes my day when you leave a comment here. If you are interested in adding my novel, Shadow of the Drill, to your Kindle library, the Amazon link is below. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, and I’ll see you on Wednesday when I post about…something fun. Lol I have no clue as of yet.

* * *

Born of Crcumstance, Bred for Revenge.
Shadow of the Drill
http://t.co/AMzFy8uiSf

 * * *

 

Contact Information:

Twitter – @rhanidchae

                @rhanidchaebooks

 Email – rhanidchae@gmail.com

 Please join me on Facebook and

Google Plus

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. johnfioravanti · June 15, 2015

    Rhani, thanks for the reviews! They are always fun to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rhani D'Chae · June 15, 2015

      John, thank you so much for stopping by. I appreciate your taking the time to do that so much! 😅

      Like

  2. Rhani D'Chae · June 15, 2015

    Lizzie, Bette, thank you both so much for stopping by my blog today. You made my night!

    Like

Leave a Reply

