Let’s Play A Game

Let’s Play A Game

 Today I thought I’d give you a little background on Decker, the main character in Shadow of the Drill, and in the novels that are lined up to follow it. Then, if you stay long enough to read the whole thing, I’ll ask you a question. If you know the answer, you could win either a signed paperback copy or an e-copy of Shadow of the Drill.

 Let me start by saying that while Decker, Rudy, and everyone else who inhabits the pages of the Drill Series are fictional characters, they, and the world that they live in, are composites of  people and places that I knew in my younger days. I was fourteen when I decided that I wanted to leave home and seek fame and fortune. I never found the fortune, but I did find fame, of sorts, in the world of adult entertainment. It was an exciting life, and I learned quickly how to survive on streets very similar to the ones that Decker calls his.

 During the wild years of my wayward youth I met several men who made their money as muscle for hire. Wave the right number of zeros in front of them and they could be hired to handle the various unpleasantries that someone else didn’t have the ability or the desire to do. While many of these men were simply bullies who liked getting paid to intimidate someone, they were seen for what they were and not taken too seriously. But the serious enforcers were a different breed entirely, and despite what you might think, they were not bad men. Granted, what they did was illegal on pretty much every level, but these men were governed by a moral code that was as strict as it was…unique. Crimes against the young, the old, or the impaired were dealt with harshly, as were crimes against women. These men held themselves to the highest standards of loyalty; standing by their family, their friends, and their territory no matter the cost. They were, for the most part, very honest men who knew the value of honor, and would never do anything to bring shame upon themselves, or upon the reputation that they had worked so hard to build. It was these men who gave me my boys.

 Like Rudy, Decker is a composite of two or three of the enforcers who made the biggest impression on me. From the moment of his “birth” I knew everything about him. I knew how tall he was, and that he was heavily muscled. I knew that he was half Italian, and what his voice sounded like. I knew that he was clean shaven, that his hair was black, and that he had the most incredible blue eyes I’d ever seen. Yes, I knew every inch of his body, with one exception: he had no face. And though I tried to combine the features of the men that I had based him on, the results were neer successful enough to actually use. It’s not that I couldn’t write him at a satisfactory level, because I could. But without a face, I couldn’t give him depth. I couldn’t give him life. I wanted him to be so much more than satisfactory. I wanted him to be good. I wanted to be proud that I’d written him. Because of this, I fell victim to writer’s block on a regular basis, and reluctantly considered shelving Shadow until I could come up with a workable face for Decker.

 And then it happened. I went to the movies to see a film that starred one of my favorite actors, and he was there. Second banana to the star, he was a good looking guy with strikingly beautiful blue eyes, but that was all. I don’t think Decker entered my mind until about a quarter of the way into the movie. It was one scene, about twenty seconds long, but there was something about his face that caught my attention. I can’t really to tell you what it was; maybe the lighting, or the angle of his head, but whatever it was, it reached out and locked me in a grip that I know I’ll never be free of. I finally had Decker’s face, and the minute I got back to my computer I could see the difference. Decker lived in my keyboard, and his essence guided my fingers to create a man that I am beyond proud to claim. On that day, the Drill was truly born.  

 Okay, for those of you who have been good enough to read this entire post, it’s time to play a game. Below is a picture of the actor who gave me Decker’s face. I don’t know if any of you will recognize him, but I’ll send a signed copy of Shadow of the Drill to the first person who correctly identifies him. (US residents only) And I’ll send an e-copy of Shadow to the first person outside of the states who recognizes him. And even if you’re not the first person to respond, if you have the right name and would like an e-copy of Shadow, please let me know. I’m happy to send a few more out to those who are interested in reading my work. 

 VAL

Thank you so much for stopping by today and for sharing a few minutes of your time with me. I am so grateful for your interest and your support. Please join me on Sunday for my next round of movie reviews.

* * *

Born of Crcumstance, Bred for Revenge.
Shadow of the Drill
http://t.co/AMzFy8uiSf

* * *

 

Contact Information:

Twitter – @rhanidchae

                @rhanidchaebooks

 Email – rhanidchae@gmail.com

 Please join me on Facebook and

Google Plus

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. johnfioravanti · June 11, 2015

    I thoroughly enjoyed this description of how Decker came to be – thanks for sharing this!! I hope you have a few more books in this series, Rhani!!

    Like

  2. Rhani D'Chae · June 11, 2015

    John, thank you so much! *Hugs* As it stands now, there are 12 or 13 books in various stages of production. Once I get moved & settle in, I plan to finish three books a year. Hopefully my boys will have a following who will want to read them. Lol

    Like

  3. John W. Howell · June 12, 2015

    I have no idea who the actor is but loved the book and enjoyed getting some background. Have a nice weekend Rhani.

    Like

  4. Rhani D'Chae · June 12, 2015

    John, thank you so much for stopping by. I appreciate it so much. *Hugs* Hope you have a great weekend as well. 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

