Please Welcome Micki Peluso

Welcome to the second day of Rave Reviews Book Club’s “Bethany Turner Pay It Forward” week. This week, we were given three authors to spotlight, and today, I’m privileged to host fellow #RRBC member Micki Peluso. Micki is the talented author of And The Whippoorwill Sang, which is available on Amazon in both eBook and paperback.Please read on to learn a little about Micki, and about her book.

* * *

In Micki’s own words

   I have written since I learned to hold a pencil. But life interferred with serious writing until a tragedy struck my family. I have written since I learned to hold a pencil. But life interfered with serious writing until a tragedy struck my family. This time I took up the pen and wrote as a catharsis to my grief–where spoken words failed, written words helped heal my wounded soul. 

   My first short story of the incident was published in an International Journal, and a career in writing was launched. After enough rejection slips to wallpaper my kitchen, I discovered writing for newspapers. After that there were no more rejections, which was a great relief. I became a staff freelance writer for a bi-weekly award winning newspaper and freelance slice of life writer for the larger local paper, serving a city of 500,000 people. The diversity of writing for newspapers let me experiment in many areas of writing from essays, commentaries, interviews, humor, pathos, analogy, and short fiction.

   I have recently published my first non-fiction book, . . .AND THE WHIPPOORWILL SANG, dedicated to the one I lost. Published by Light Sword Publishing, it is a funny, poignant celebration of life rather than a eulogy of death. My next book is a sci-fi chapter book for children, co-written with my 11 year-old grandson, who demands top billing. I still write short stories, my favorite category, especially humor and paranormal and have several other children’ books in progress.

* * *

About And The Whippoorwill Sang

It is a day like any other, except the intense heat wave has broken and signs of early fall are in the air. 

Around the dining room table of her 100 year old farmhouse Micki Peluso’s six children along with three of their friends eagerly gulp down a chicken dinner. As soon as the last morsel is ravished, the lot of them is off in different directions. Except for the one whose turn it is to do the dishes. After offering her mother a buck if she’ll do them, with an impish grin, the child rushes out the front door, too excited for a hug, calling out, “Bye Mom,” as the door slams shut. For the Peluso’s the nightmare begins. 

Micki and Butch face the horror every parent fears—awaiting the fate of one of their children. While sitting vigil in the ICU waiting room, Micki traverses the past, as a way of dealing with an inconceivable future.
From the bizarre teenage elopement with her high school sweetheart, Butch, in a double wedding with her own mother, to comical family trips across country in an antiquated camper with six kids and a dog, they leave a path of chaos, antics and destruction in their wake. Micki relives the happy times of raising six children while living in a haunted house, as the young parents grow up with their kids. She bravely attempts to be the man of the house while her husband, Butch is working out of town. 

Hearing strange noises, which all the younger kids are sure is the ghosts, Micki tiptoes down to the cellar, shotgun in hand and nearly shoots an Idaho potato that has fallen from the pantry and thumped down the stairs. Of course her children feel obligated to tell the world.
Just when their lives are nearly perfect, tragedy strikes—and the laughter dies. A terrible accident takes place in the placid valley nestled within the Susquehanna Mountains in the town of Williamsport, Pennsylvania. On a country lane just blocks from the family’s hundred year old haunted farmhouse, lives are changed forever. 

In a state of shock, Micki muses through their delightful past to avoid confronting an uncertain future—as the family copes with fear and apprehension.
One of her six children is fighting for life in Intensive Care. Both parents are pressured by doctors to disconnect Noelle, their fourteen-year-old daughter. Her beautiful girl, funny and bright, who breathes life into every moment, who does cartwheels in piles of Autumn leaves, who loves to sing and dance down country roads, and above all loves her family with all her soul. How can Micki let this child go?
The family embarks upon yet another journey, to the other side of sorrow and grasps the poignant gift of life as they begin. . .to weep. . .to laugh. . .to grieve. . .to dance—and forgive.

* * *

Add this fantastic book to your library

http://t.co/xUhrv4Adrp

* * *

Contact Micki at:

Email: mallie1025@aol.com

Blog: http://www.mallie1025.blogspot.com/

Twitter Handle: @mickipeluso

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/?_rdr

Thank you for stopping by my blog today. I hope that you enjoyed reading about Micki Peluso and her novel And The Whippoorwill Sang. Please join me on Friday, when I will be showcasing Marc Estes, he author of Four Pieces For Power: Book 1 of the Vendicatori.

 

 

5 comments

  1. Jan Hawke · May 27, 2015

    I love your book cover Micki – so beautifully ethereal 🙂
    Good piece Rhani

    Like

  2. Micki Peluso · May 28, 2015

    Thank you Jan, I’m so glad you enjoyed it.. I have a book of short stories coming out soon with more antics of my life and kids called, ‘Don’t Pluck the Duck.’.

    Like

  3. Micki Peluso · May 28, 2015

    Thank you Ryan for you hard work in presenting me all day. I’ve been doing the Sam three days too.
    Micki

    Like

    • Rhani D'Chae · May 28, 2015

      You’re so welcome, Micki. It has been a pleasure promoting you today. Your book looks really interesting & I’ve put it on my TBR list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

