My lighter side

There was a time when I wrote poetry, and some of it wasn’t too terribly bad. And this may come as a surprise to those of you who’ve read #Shadow, but nobody ever died in my poems. Lol So tonight I thought I’d share one of my favorites. This poem was included in the Rave Reviews Book Club’s anthology: Rave Soup for the Weiter’s Soul. It’s a fantastic collection of works by some incredibly talented authors, and if you haven’t read that yet, you need to put it at the top of your reading list. I hope you enjoy my little poem.

The Footprints in the Jell-O

 

The footprints in the Jell-O were discovered yesterday.

But as to who imprinted them, well…nobody could say.

The pudding also bore the marks of someone’s tiny toes.

I wonder who was walking there – perhaps I’ll never know.

 

I searched the fridge from side to side, from top to bottom rack.

But I found neither hide nor hair of he who made the track.

And so last night I lay in wait, to see who came to play.

I hoped to spot my mystery guest before the light of day.

 

But though I sat so quietly and did not move my chair,

I heard no sound within the fridge that said someone was there.

The footprints in the Jell-O were there again today.

The only sign that someone came, and quickly slipped away.

 

2 comments

  1. John Fioravanti · February 24, 2015

    I like your poem, Rhani! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rhani D'Chae · February 24, 2015

      Thank you, John. I’m so glad you liked it. I don’t write poetry anymore, but it’s fun to look at some of the older stuff.

      Like

Leave a Reply

