Take a chance, find a treasure

As a reader, I’m guilty of selecting books primarily from my favorite genres. But since joining Rave Reviews Book Club, I’ve been introduced to several authors and books that I would otherwise have probably overlooked. I’m now much more willing to branch out with my reading material, and I encourage you to do the same, if you don’t already. Treasures can be found in the most unlikely of places, and I have found some sparklers.

The following reviews are for two books that I stepped out of my “comfort zone” to read, and I’m so very glad that I did. Two different authors, two very different books, and I highly recommend them both.

Allergic to life: My battle for courage, survival, and hope

Kathryn Chastain Treat

I rarely read non fiction because I read to be entertained, and reality is rarely entertaining. Especially when it comes to the ailments that plague most of us as we wander through life. This was not a ‘fun’ read. Rather, it was informative about things that I think normally we might accidentally overlook or just not consider to be worth noticing. Things like mold and other toxic compounds have been made mention of for years, but I don’t think most of us really pay that much attention to what we hear. This book may change that. And if it does…if the struggle chronicled in this book saves one person from a similar fate, then the author has achieved her purpose and maybe, in some small way, her ordeal will have served a purpose.

Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend

Nonnie Jules

This is a book that deals with a very harsh subject – the molestation of a child. And if that’s not bad enough, the molester is her stepfather. The girl, Maiya, also suffers physical and emotional abuse at the hands of her mother, who sees her daughter as competition. Maiya does have some supportive people in her life, but fear of retaliation keeps her from disclosing what goes on at her house.

The story is well told, and draws the reader into the ups and downs of Maiya’s life in all of its sordid reality. Ms Jules pulls no punches, and Maiya’s experiences are very similar to those of girls that I’ve met along my own path who came from the same background. Because of this authenticity, I found the story to be believable, and Maiya to be someone I could truly sympathize with. The only negative that I have in regards to Daydream’s Daughter is that the narrative is too casual for my personal tastes, but that’s my own thing and I won’t penalize the author for it. This book tells a 5* story, and so that’s the rating that it received from me.

Leave a Reply

